GOVERNMENT

1967). A Canadian Permanent Delegation to the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development is in Paris. In addition to these permanent international bodies and their various committees, officials of the Department of External Affairs represent Canada at many international conferences.

3.6.1.1 Diplomatic and/or consular representation

The addresses of Canadian representatives abroad and representatives of other countries in Canada may be found in Appendix 5.

3.6.1.2 Federal-provincial aspects of Canada's international relations

As a result of expanding provincial interests abroad machinery was established in 1967 within the Department of External Affairs to maintain liaison with the provinces and to facilitate their international activities in a manner that would fully meet provincial objectives and at the same time be consistent with a unified Canadian foreign policy.

The federal government's position was outlined in the 1968 White Paper *Federalism and international relations*, which emphasized that Canada's foreign relations must serve the best interests of all provinces as well as those of its two major linguistic communities. To this end federal government policies include continued promotion of national unity through adequate projection internationally of Canada's distinct bilingual character, preservation of Canada's international personality and appropriate recognition of legitimate provincial interests beyond national borders.

Provincial participation at international conferences and in the work of international organizations on a wide range of subjects, including human and civil rights, education, health, agriculture and labour, is assured by the inclusion of interested provincial officials on Canadian delegations and by the canvassing of provincial governments for their views on the positions and attitudes which Canada might adopt on these subjects internationally.

Other aspects of Canada's international relations of particular interest to the provinces include the promotion of trade, investment, new industries, immigration, tourism, cultural exchanges, environmental questions, science and technology, assistance to developing countries and bilateral and multilateral agreements. The promotional activities of the provinces have led to an increase in the number of official provincial visits abroad. The federal government, through the Department of External Affairs and its Embassies and High Commissions, assists provincial officials by making arrangements and appropriate appointments for their visits abroad and in co-ordinating visits of foreign personalities to provincial capitals.

In matters of aid to developing countries, the federal government encourages wider federal-provincial consultation to ensure that specific projects initiated by the provinces are coordinated with Canada's aid contribution as a whole.

Similarly, when the terms of treaties, conventions and other formal agreements between Canada and other countries touch on provincial or joint federal-provincial fields of jurisdiction, the federal government consults with the provinces before or during the negotiating stage to harmonize federal and provincial interests.

3.6.2 International activities

3.6.2.1 Canada and the Commonwealth

Originally a tightly knit coalition of five members, the Commonwealth has evolved into an international association of 33 sovereign states embracing approximately one quarter of the earth's land surface and population, the latter characterized by a diversity of races, colours, creeds and languages. Comprising both developed and developing countries, and governments committed to various international organizations, the Commonwealth represents a unique association whose members are bound by shared political and social values, similar attitudes and institutions, a similar political and historical experience, and a common language. The interests of its members extend to all continents.

Commonwealth members (with the year when membership was proclaimed in parentheses if post-1931) are as follows: Australia; Britain; Canada; New Zealand; Bangladesh (1972); Barbados (1966); Botswana (1966); Cyprus (1961); Fiji (1970); Gambia (1965); Ghana (1957); Grenada (1974); Guyana (1966); India (1947); Jamaica (1962); Kenya (1963); Lesotho (1966); Malawi (1964); Malaysia (1963) — when Singapore, Sarawak and Sabah joined the Federation in 1963, Malaya became Malaysia; Malta (1964); Mauritius